£5 from 1927 to 1966

1927 Riddle/Heathershaw Five Pound Banknote

Obverse Coat of Arms
Reverse Hawkesbury River, N.S.W
Signatories E. C. Riddle, Governor, Commonwealth Bank of Australia
J. Heathershaw, Secretary to the Treasury
Size 180.34mm [width] 78.74mm [height]
Composition Paper – 75 gsm
Watermark Light basketweave around edges and ’£5’ (twice) in centre
Dark ’Commonwealth’ above and ’Australia’ below centre
Serial Numbers Prefix letter Q over numeral
Q/11 290001 to Q/26 773000

r50 1966 Coombs/Wilson Five Pound Banknotes

Obverse Sir John Franklin
Reverse Aboriginal artifacts & primary produce
Signatories H. C. Coombs, Governor, Commonwealth Bank of Australia
Roland Wilson, Secretary to the Treasury
Size 167.64mm [width] 78.74mm [height]
Composition Paper – 83 gsm
Watermark Captain Cook in centre oval
’FIVE’ behind each signature
Serial Numbers Prefix letters TB, TC or TD over numeral
TB/41 120001 to TD/09 519000

Notes :
In 1991 Note Printing Australia [NPA] issued a 25th anniversary of decimal currency release consisting of the last 800 ten shilling, one pound, five pound and ten pound notes. Included in this release were the first issue one, two, ten and twenty dollar notes. Many of these sets have been broken up by individual sales and may cause confusion in the marketplace.


updated; 20/01/2019